NSW Disability Inclusion Awards

The NSW Disability Inclusion Award acknowledges local government organisations that deliver greater opportunities for people with disability to participate in community life through the implementation of innovative services, programs and/or policies.
This new LGNSW award is sponsored by NSW Department of Family and Community Services.  
Entries close on Monday 5 June 2017 and winners will be announced at the Local Government Week Awards Evening on Thursday 3 August 2017 at Doltone House. 

About the Award

This LGNSW award recognises local government organisation projects and/or initiatives which respond to one of four focus areas of primary importance in creating an inclusive community, as outlined in the NSW Disability Inclusion Plan. These are:
  1. Developing positive community attitudes and behaviours
  2. Creating liveable communities
  3. Supporting access to meaningful employment
  4. Improving access to services through better systems and processes.
Councils could, for example, enter initiatives or projects that:
  • Develop successful partnerships between government and/or business and/or community which led to increased opportunities for people with disability to participate in community life
  • Facilitate the participation of people with disability, their families and carers in the economic, social, cultural, and recreational life of the community
  • Enable communication and information systems that are accessible, reliable and responsive to the needs of people with disability, their families and carers
  • Apply the principles of ‘universal design’ to council projects and infrastructure.

Award divisions

A winner and highly commended will be awarded within three divisions based on council population:
  • Less than 30,000
  • Between 30,000 to 70,000
  • Greater than 70,000.

Award criteria

The project/initiative must be:
  • Managed by a local government organisation 
  • Address at least one of the four focus areas stipulated in the National Disability Strategy
  • Innovative and resulted in improvements that have achieved significant benefits for people with disability
  • Able to be replicated by other councils
  • Demonstrates leadership in its development, implementation and evaluation
  • Achieved its intended goals
  • Cost efficient and utilises existing resources
  • Undertaken in the 2016-17 financial year.


Eligible nominations will be assessed based on the content provided in the submitted entry form against the criteria and be judged by a panel consisting of industry representatives from the NSW Department of Family and Community Services and Local Government NSW.